The Head-less Writer

I’m a writer.

You’re thinking, duh, how else would you be blogging? 

Or

What do you have published?

Or

So, you have no job, probably weigh 600 lbs, don’t shower, and sit on a computer all day trolling Facebook and YouTube.

What claims do I have to being a writer? I’m not 600 lbs and I do shower, especially on Wednesdays, and I’m to cute to be a troll. I do have publications from High School that really don’t count because all copies are to be burned when I get famous.

But I am a writer. I say this because I see the world in words. Everything I see has a sentence that type through my head. How you are reading this is how I see things when I close my eyes.

I’m so obsessed with words that I love watching foreign movies to read the subtitles. I watch American shows with subtitles to read the dialogue.

I get mad at my husband for calling me instead of texting me.

Writing is my bliss.

I want to write the world. I want to play God. I want to make (fictional) people suffer if they don’t worship me. I send them to hell, I give them heaven, I generally kill them in horrible ways….

I’m a horror/fantasy writer. It’s a weird thing to be because you scare yourself. A lot. And you see things differently, a lot.

The best way to explain this is to go backwards in time to a baby shower I attended. We played one of those baby shower games where we had to name the movie. All the movies had the word ‘baby’ in it. So the hostess would say “Blank dollar baby” and the answer would “Million Dollar Baby.”

One of the movies she said was “Baby on…”

And I immediately shout out “Fire.”

Everyone stares at me. After all I’m holding a seventh month old in my lap, my own son. I’m wearing a pretty dress, I have a rainbow-beaded necklace on my four-year old daughter made for me- why in the world would I think of a baby being on fire. We all have a good laugh about it, I explain that it could be a pet name for someone. There could be a comma in there or an explanation point at the end that makes that title okay.

Let us take this example further into the same event. 

The theme for this particular baby shower was owls and the pregnant friend is having a baby girl. Another good friend of mine is also having a girl and I plan on helping her with her baby shower. While trying to find a gift for girl number one this conversation comes up with girl number two:

Friend: “I find owls to be extremely creepy. I don’t want any creepy owls staring down at my baby.”

Me: “Well butterflies are attracted to dead bodies, how is that any better?” (Her daughter’s room is done with a butterfly theme.)

You’ll probably understand as you read more of what I blog. To put it simply and in picture form: horror writers/thinks/fans can’t just be the Queen of Hearts. They have to be the Queen of Hearts with her head chopped off.

Image

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Head-less Writer

  1. Reblogged this on Me wee little bloggy and commented:
    Read Tyla!

Leave a Reply

